Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Old year ========> New Year

Well as we close off on 2010 I look back & I can't help but think.... what were my resolutions. Hmm well to be honest. I can't remember & since I didn't start this post till April, I can't really look back on that to tell me either.

2010 for me has been a year of ups & downs. I am mostly a laid back person. I just take it all day by day. I suppose to name the ups they would be that I decidedto take control of my weight & do something about it. Although I did well at this I did fall off the wagon so to speak a few months back when I reached one of my milestones & decided that life was too busy to keep it all up.
A major downer for me has been my job. I worked really hard Sometimes I think too hard & whilst I know that there are a few who recognised the effort I put in I really don't think that they were the ones who should have recognised it. So what did I do about that? I stepped back & down. and surprisingly I have a bit more time on my hands. I used to have the mentality that unless I was there it just wouldn't get done. Well i'm not doing it but things still seem to be working.

So what have I learnt during 2010 that I can carry over to the new year?

I've learnt that 2011 is a year to make the things happen that I want to happen. I have decided to further my education. I used to want to be a teacher but I am also interested in training. At the moment i'm more leaning towards the training aspect so I will start looking into courses to get me there.
I've also learnt that I can not give up on my weight loss. I feel so good when I am doing it so I absolutely can not drop the ball anymore than I have. I have set a goal for myself that by the end of June I would like to be down to 75kilos. So that's 6 months to loose roughly 10 kilos. I'm willing to take it slow and get there right. I will still follow the WW program (well the old one at least) because it worked so well for me but I will also be conscious of the fact that either when I start nearing my goal or when June rolls around that I will need to set some new goals so that I don't allow to happen what happened this year. I'll also reset my icon timeline thingie at the top of the page with my new goal so that we can see how I go & i'll do an update here at least once a week.

The old doormat in me is gone, no more time to consider what might have been, just time to consider what I will do..... p.s. I have dibs on the 31mil lotto draw on NYE......

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Accountability time

Hi, yes i'm still alive. Slightly AWOL but still alive.

So what's been going on with me? Well life happened which is not so much different than normal except that I seemed to loose alot of motivation. Since the kids have been up on holidays I haven't exercised & I really haven't watched my portions either. The weight has crept on a bit slowly & I feel like crap! I have no energy & just a general sense of not wanting to care.

Problem is though that if I let myself continue down this train of thought it will keep snowballing until I start to think that it'll be too hard to climb back on that wagon so i'm starting fresh today after nearly 2 weeks of telling myself that i'll get on track tomorrow (sound familiar?)

My scales at home tell me that i'm 85 exactly which is sad because they were telling me about 4 weeks ago that i was 82.something so i've definantly let the vacation mentality stay around too long.

So new start today & hopefully some better news tomorrow on how i've gone today.

So far i'm aiming for getting my water in, some exercise done & getting my freezer reorganised with alternative meals for me to grab when I can't be bothered...

Wish me luck!!

Monday, September 27, 2010

To be a kid again....

It's that time of the year again that makes some parents cringe, me, i'm lucky I guess because we only have Justins kids for school holidays so every moment is absolutely cherished.
The weight that I gain whilst they're here is maybe not so much cherished but at least since it's spring we can have lots of salads & bbq's so that should help some. Also it's only really a temporary gain.

Anyways, back to school holidays. I have this week off work & Justin will take next week off with the kids.
This afternoon we spent at the park. One of the boys bought his skateboard with him so I spent alot of time sitting on the skateboard flying down the hill. Then we figured out that if I sit right at the back of the skateboard with a girl in front & if she holds my legs up then we can double team it... So much fun & amazingly no real bruises! Not to mention all the climbing back up the hill to do it again.
We also climbed all over the climbing frame & I have come to realise that the upper arm strength I had as a child is most definantly a thing of the past but by the end of the day I could pull myself up & over the bars (woohoo)

Today we baked a chocolate cake, tomorrow will be something else, I love cooking & it's so much fun, can't wait to see what tomorrow has in store!

What was your favourite thing to do as a kid? go try it out again, I bet you have a blast!

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

For Ali!!

Well I just got facebooked because Ali's bored & since she was so cranky the other day I bestest comply or else live in fear that she'll jump through my computer & go all vampiric on me.......

I really really can't stand being sick & also certain aspects of my job, so much so that I overemphasised my cold so that I could go home & not have to be in the same room as a certain mean & vindictive supervisor who I am sure hates me & is completely out there just to make my life miserable by repeatedly making me do the job he knows I least like. I will admit, I now hate that I used to be inquisitive & that I used to want to know how everything worked because now it means I get stuck doing crap that I don't want to. Honestly, I think i'd go back to childcare if I could afford it!!!

So uhm yeah, that's my rant. Now for some good stuff because it's what's getting me through right now.

Ali's reminiscing over at her blog www.259days.blogspot.com & our "Web mum" Deb is quite funny in her comments. Ali is talking about how she used to be hot & how she wants to get back there. Deb thinks she's past hot because she is 48 now.

My latest favourite song is "Just the way you are" by Bruno Mars. It gives me goosebumps & it also reflects what my darling Justin says about me.. There's a line in there that goes "when you smile, the whole world stops & stares for a while".. he often says that about me.

When I was 21 I was what I thought was happily married, although really I was not. I married John right out of high school. You know those cliche's about highschool sweethearts... yup, I was it.
When I was 21, I was hot, I was rocking size 10-12 clothes. I had confidence, it shone through, I was beautiful inside & out.
When I was 21, I met Justin. Justin was married, he thought happily, with 4 kids. Yes ladies, a homewrecker I guess I am, although I will tell you it takes 2 people to cheat, you can't cheat by yourself & both of our exes pushed us to hang out together alot. Word of advice though, technologies a bitch & destroy all evidence if you don't ever want to get caught out. (oops)

When I was 22, Justin & I got caught & both of our marriages ended in an instance. I remember not feeling anything about it so really I do feel that it was for the best & a year or so later when I met up with my ex to sign some paperwork he even agreed that we'd stayed together too long & we should have both had the guts to split up sooner.
When I was 22, I started to gain weight... rapidly. I had changed from an active job to a call centre job. Justin still said I was hot, I was no longer a 21 year old but I was hot.
When I was 23, Justin still said I was hot, even when I was 24 & 25 & 26 & 27!

I am 27 & I am getting white hair. I'm not enjoying it. This is my midlife crisis... some would say I had that at 21, but I am having it at 27. I try to pull them out when I find them. sometimes it requires alot of time & effort & sometimes I just can't get it so I have to run out to Justin who laughs & then takes it out for me. Because to be truthful, I don't want to stop being hot to him.

In the last 5 years we have both gained weight, I did mine early on, he is working on his tummy now (& he's not impressed either I might add) But truth be told I still think he's hot, I just made him bend over my computer to plug in my headphones so I could check his butt out. He's still got it. This is a man who is closing in on 40 in a few years & like a fine wine he does get better with age (mmmm wine). This is a relationship where I feel alive, so so so alive. It is a fantasy almost every day & the days that it isn't are very soon forgotten because I get to go back to the fantasy, the guy who has played grid iron for 20 years so thanks to lots of squats he has the perfect ass. He gets a white haired woman who is getting her figure back so that I can be hot again in my own mind so that when he tells me i'm hot I can believe him instead of thinking that he needs glasses.

So the point of this rambling, apart from letting you know my past "days of our lives" dramas is that we are all "hot" to someone, & we do still have it, & we aren't going to loose it, because we are awesome! We are going to get thin, & we are going to go out & make heads turn & they won't be our mens, but our men will get to walk down the street with their egotistical grins & look at all they other guys checking us out & then they can casually drape an arm around us & smirk, cause they get to take us home. & you know that with girls as hot as us... well the sex will be fantastic!

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

It's Spring!!!!!

I'm actually an autumn girl but I am loving the warm weather these days. Beach days are getting closer & closer!!

Spring is a time for new beginnings & I think that works for me as well, a renewed focus on my weightloss & getting healthy again... Also a focus on wanting to beat one of the big talkers in the biggest looser challenge just to bring him down a peg or two (tall poppy syndrome).

I have now exercised on a daily basis for the last month & that is a huge achievement for me. Some things are still hard, some are getting easier & I am also looking at trying some new things like boxing, but still baby steps atm.

Will check in in a few days, water is going good, exercise is going good, just have to get my points right :)

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

It's my weekend!!!!!

Hello all you hard working people out there in blogging land. First up I just need a little nah nah nah nah.. it's officially my weekend! The downside is that when you're all enjoying yours i'll be heading back to work. Very happy to see the week that was gone! I mean really, 6am starts which means 4.30am wake ups. bleh! Yay for weekends!



So what do I have planned for the next few days? Well, a bit of nothing, some cleaning & then more nothing.

In amongst all the nothingness I will remember to consume water & keep on with the exercise.



& on a funnier note, there are some people at work who are thinking it'll be funny to bring in cakes & chocolates etc to really test people's willpower throughout the biggest looser challenge.. I see the funny side. I also see that some of these people are not quite skinny minnies themselves & are maybe being so flippant about it so that they don't have to look at themselves & their own issues.

It's all good though, cause I can hold out!! yeehaaaaaa!!


waterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwater

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Competition time!!

We are embarking on a biggest looser style competition at work!
Now my work place is a 24 hr call centre. So obviously there are alot of larger people there, it is a sitting job, with long shifts ranging from 8-12 hr days. It is a rotating shiftwork roster over an 8 week period so one week I may start at 6am, the next at 11pm. There is no option other than designated break times to get up & go for a walk. We have an on site canteen during the day but during the nights unless you are prepared & bring your food you are left with the option of vending machine or take away, neither of which have many "good options".
So as I stated earlier, there are many larger people at work. I myself was a size 10 when I started there 5 years ago. within 6-8 months I was at least a 14 & not too long after that I was up to 16's. I hovered in 16-18's until the last year where i'm sure I shot up into size 20's although I never wore them, I think I just stretched the heck out of my old clothing.

The buy in is $20 per person, the competition starts 1st September & lasts for 8 weeks & is measured by % lost. Winner takes all.
Oh how I want to be that winner! I have quite a competitive streak in me sometimes that I think may just be rearing it's head.
You know how we all have our little tricks for making sure we weigh as light as possible? like going to the toilet beforehand, wearing ballet flat shoes that weigh as much as a feather, wearing light clothing, not eating heavy meals the day before a weigh in, staying away from diet drinks with high sodium levels that help retain water etc etc... I have become very tempted to drink alot of fluid right before weigh in, weigh with my joggers, wear jeans etc etc so that I have a higher starting weight, but then I know that this is also wrong, however it seems that there are others at work who are thinking exactly the same way. Nice to see i'm not the only competitive one huh?

Seriously though, I am going to give this my all. It will be interesting to see how much I can improve myself during this time & it will also be interesting to see the changes in all the other participants at work because goodness knows some of them need this motivation as well.

And if I win? well that's just icing on the cake!

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Hellllloooooooo

Hey everyone,

I'm still alive just sporadically posting.
Have exercised every day for over 2 weeks now so feeling good about that. I've also noticed that I am starting to feel like i'm missing something if I haven't done it, so advice wise, if you aren't a big exerciser, set yourself a challenge of 2 weeks & then see how you feel at the end, it really does become routine! Also keep changing it up. I have Zumba & Yoga Dvd's, exercise bike, leg magic (man that can hurt), walking & tomorrow i'm skipping!
I also saw some really pretty looking pink boxing gloves at the shops the other day so might look into some boxing courses so I have an excuse to wear them, besides, I think it could be fun to get a black eye for a day or so (just as long as I don't break a nail huh? LOL)
It's getting warmer so I went through my swimmers the other day, some are too big, some are getting too big & others are still a little snug but just ok... then there are the other 3 sets I have on layby.... hmmm best not tell Justin about that lol!
Uhhhhmm what else was I going to say?
Can't really remember but when I do, that will make another post!

Take care of yourselves & have a lovely week!

Saturday, August 7, 2010

The affair is over

I'm a serial weigher.... I sneak a peak whenever I can. I only ever go by the WW scales that I weigh in on once a week at meetings but I love to hop on my ones at home every chance I get to see how i'm going.

The problem is this though. This week I have tracked every day so far except for yesterday (friday). I know that there were some days where I went over by 1 or 2 points but i've earnt bonus points from exercise (I don't usually eat them but they've allowed me to stay within points balance). I currently have12 bonus points left & I don't feel the need to use them so that's good.
I have exercised every day. 30 min minimum sometimes closer to 1.5 hrs. The activities have ranged between my exercise bike or Zumba dvd's & tonight will be walking.
I've attended 2 meetings this week & nearly considered going for a third this morning.
I've upped the veggie intake & the water intake. I've tried 3 different WW recipes this week (all yummy) & i've been careful with my portion sizes.

So you'd think that i'd be looking at a pleasing result next monday night. Not so according to my scales. By the looks i'm heading for a gain & at least a 500 gram one.
I just don't understand it but it's doing my head in! So scales, the affair is over. I am putting you away before you derail me.
I am going to continue plugging away & working my butt off. I am sore in alot of places that I wasn't a week ago but I refuse to give in because I am worth it. I am now wearing a pair of jeans that I haven't for 4.5 years - That is progress.
Scales being mean to me & telling me that i'm gaining weight when i've worked so hard all week is not.
Just like affairs of the heart play mind games & seem to consume you before you realise that you can't be healthy if you stay in that situation any longer, so to must my relationship with the scales.

Cheers Kel.

P.S. If anyone has other suggestions or ideas as to what I can try please let me know!!

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Wooohooooo!!!!

Sorry feeling absolutely awesome right now! a bit sore but still awesome.

I did a 50 min zumba dvd workout today, the cardio party one. it was excellent! A few times like around the 20 min mark & again around the 30 min mark I was like oh man I don't want to do anymore, & then they changed the style & I kept going. It was fun & the exhilerating feeling of making it the whole way through was just unreal!! It almost makes me want to do it again but man am I pooped!!

This is my 4th day of focussing on tracking & so far I have kept it up. I have gone over points a few times but I am tracking them at least & so far I have exercised every day as well so i'm hoping that that will counterbalance it.

Today I am making the chicken & vegetable curry from the latest ww cookbook. I love curries so I am especially hopeful that this will be yummy.

Will let you all know how it goes.

On a sidenote, sorry if I don't make it to all your blog pages, my computer has died completely so until I get a new one I have commandered the kids one & I don't have all teh pages saved under my favourites.

<3 Kel

Sunday, August 1, 2010

ZUMBA!!!!


Lookie what I got today!!!!
My Zumba Dvd's turned up & I am soooo excited. I have already completed the 1st disc & it was not always easy, lets face it I am uncoordinated to the extreme but I had soooo much fun!
I bought the advance pack so I got a stripey towel, a watch which can also take my heart rate (I was 84 before & 98 after i'd cooled down), a set of shakers (just wait till those go through a window or worse the tv) & I think there are 9 different discs. All very exciting & whilst i'm sure some of those discs won't be opened for a while I know that there is heaps of variety to keep me interested!!
So lets get moving ladies!!!!!

What's your goal??

This week I am TRACKING!!!!!

Last night I worked out my menu plan & today I started tracking. I am feeling just that little bit more in control woohoo!

Have also started playing with the new stuff on the WW page, still not 100% sure if i'm a fan but I have to try it before I can diss it.

Will let you all know how I go after wi tonight. It may not be much of an improvement from last week but watch out next week because i'm back!

If any of you want to add me on the WW page I go under the name deimos.

Talk later & have a fabulous day!

Sluggishly slow Sunday













Having Mac & cheese for dinner tonight from the latest WW cookbook! Can't wait to try it, I almost wanted to forgo Friday night take out the other night in favour of trying it... almost but not quite.

So today... what have I done today?

Slept in
Added new photos on facebook
washing x3 loads
christmas laybys started at the shops
lounged around alot

what do I still have planned?

some form of exercise, I think my exercise bike will suffice although I wish my Zumba dvd's would hurry up! By the way congrats to Hez @ http://hezmark2.blogspot.com/ who got hers & has started Zumba, I hope you love them as much as everyone else seems to, I can't wait to join the craze!!
Cooking dinner... I wish some days that there was a cooking fairy. In all honesty I do love to cook, just some days I don't feel like it & today is one of them. (EDIT TO POST: I cooked it so that's done now)

Hope you've all had a lovely weekend & I will think of you all slaving away at work tomorrow whislt I continue to enjoy my weekend :)

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Sucker for punishment?

I went to my second WW meeting for the week. As posted earlier I went on Monday night but sometimes I feel my enthusiasm waning & in order to get through the weekend saely, I thought that I would go get a morale boost.
It was good. We do have 2 different leaders & it was strange hearing the same topic but from 2 completely different viewpoints, still I did take something away from both meetings & maybe tomorrow afternoon when I get home I won't feel the need to suck on a snake before spitting it out in the bin because I don't really want it.... yup I really did do that, & I don't even like green snakes!!
Still waiting on my Zumba DVD's to show up! wish they'd hurry up, sooo want to try them, can't wait!

Monday, July 26, 2010

What's your tune?

Ali over at http://259days.blogspot.com/ is within 2 kilos of getting a new ipod!! Go Ali you can do it!

I went to my weigh in tonight & like I expected it wasn't pretty. Over the last 2 weeks since my birthday I have gained 1.2 kilos taking me back up to 86.5. A little dissapointing but I did let myself do it. It was an awesome meeting & the topic this week was about finding the balance between extremes. I'm trying to find that balance this week & I am going back to basics.
Was I an absolute angel today? No. Before weigh in I had the mentality of well what's done is done & I may as well continue to eat these Jaffas... have I mentioned that i'm not even that into Jaffas? At dinner I could have stopped about 1/2 a slice of chicken & vegetable meatloaf earlier but I decided it was too yummy so I overindulged a bit there too, so no, I was not an angel but that is part of getting back to the right balance.

I am also going back to exercise. I absolutely can't wait for my Zumba dvd's to turn up but while i'm waiting I have other dvd's an exercise bike & a perfectly good pair of legs. Remember my c25k ap that I downloaded for my iphone? well, that hasn't been going so well, but when I was younger & used to use the exercise bike I loved putting music on & just pedalling away. So today I used my c25k ap (which plays music at the same time) & pedalled my little heart out, when it was time to run I increased the intensity on the bike, wen it was time to walk, I changed it back to the lowest setting. Usually it takes me about 45 minutes to do 10km, tonight I did 31 minutes, 11 km & burnt 400 calories.

Which brings me to the reason for this posts title... What's your tune? What music gets your blood pumping & makes you feel invincible? For me it's mid to late 90's, i'm talking Matchbox 20, Foo Fighters, No Doubt, Garbage, Blink 182, Third eye blind... I could keep going. All i'm saying is use it because tonight it helped me sooo much & I feel awesome, what's more, I felt awesome whilst exercising & that is not the norm for me.

So feel free to leave a coment & let me know what tunes you love & if you get a chance pop over to Ali's page http://259days.blogspot.com/ & give her some extra support, only 2 kilos & she gets her ipod which means some awesome awesome tunes!!

Sunday, July 25, 2010

to blog or not to blog??

That is the question....

uhhhmmm what happened to the WW boards? do I make a blog there? do I keep blogging here? So confuzled!!

So we've had the kids up on school holidays which has been a little distracting for my ww as all the meals they requested were lets say not quite so point friendly, but I did make them as good as possible. the kids also broke my puter hence the abscence, that and the fact that when it got fixed I couldn't really get near it... anyway, kids gone & puter back

I'm going to a Monday weigh in tomorrow evening, I haven't been to a meeting for 2 weeks now, part forgetfulness, part head cold & part lack of motivation... I am expecting a gain & maybe that is why I can't or won't stop eating this bag of jaffas... I'm usually not a jaffa girl but something about them has been calling me. But we're more than 1/2 way through winter, another month & it will be spring & as my tax refund will tell you, there is already an extensive range of summer clothing popping up in the shops (crossroads clothes & corelli shoes have been my vice).

Yesterday I ordered the Zumba dvd's. I have tossed up joining a gym vs doing it at home & really I am more comfortable at home plus I work shiftwork so I can do it at any time. Today I made a batch of pumpkin soup & froze it. It's time to get serious. It's time to stop procrastinating, It's time to be a doer!!

Monday, July 12, 2010

27






What's in a number?
Today is my birthday!! yay me I survived another year. For some it's a cause for celebration, for others a quiet time of reflection. For me, I think it's a time to let go.
Not so much the letting go & going wild although trust me I ate alot of points today & no i'm not going to count them, suffice to say there have been wedges, sour cream, pizza, chocolate cake & pavlova.
To me the number 27 holds all of my dreams & aspirations. Some of you may know, I married right out of high school. It was not the be all & end all I thought it would be & just under 5 years ago now we parted ways & I am with a lovely lovely man.

But back to the number 27.

I have always wanted kids. I have friends from high school who were sure that I was going to have carloads of them. I would be asked random words & I had to say the first word that came to me. More often than not it was something that involved motherhood.
27 was the year I had picked to either have kids by or to be pregnant by.
My ex was not interested point blank in having kids & I do remember once giving him the ultimatum of 27.

Funny that I am no longer in that relationship yet I am still somehow holding myself to that expectation.

As I posted earlier, I am with an absolutely lovely man, & he has 4 beautiful children and in another year or two we will have some of our own, for now though I am content to be an evil step mum in training, but even more content to be the friend of these amazing 4 children.
I am also able to move on & past expectations that I set of myself years ago & in what essentially was, another lifetime.
So next time you set goals for yourself, be it weight, family or work related, remember, sometimes it's not always the number that defines something, nor is it the package that it comes in, you may just end up pleasantly surprised...
Oh & uhhm by the way, I need butt kickers to make sure I minimise the damage on my exploding stomache!!











Saturday, June 26, 2010

I'm still alive!!

Hey everyone,

Sorry i've been so awol, i'm still alive & i've been a bit more renewed with my weight loss this week but just busy with work. I managed to loose a kilo this week & did it with the help of points, water & exercise. Funny how when you put the 3 of them together you get results huh?
I've been a bit naughty & snuck a few peeks at the scales & so far it looks like i'm doing nicely but we'll have to wait till next friday for the official numbers.
I'll be back later with my measurements, I think it's been about a month since I did them & I have a few clothes that feel decidedly looser so i'm hoping for something nice there too.

Also just wanted to say awesome work to Jess who has put in the hard yards & is doing remarkably well in her weightloss efforts. 10.5 kg in 9 weeks, seems surreal sometimes doesn't it? Truth is we are all capable of it. 1/2 do it, get 1/2 results....

Check in later! Cya's

Saturday, June 12, 2010

Soup Weather!!!


Well it's particulary blustery as Winnie the Pooh would say so I thought that I would share a soup recipe that I made yesterday. Super dooper easy, filling & cheap - both points & $$$$.
I made the Mexican Beef Soup. Nice & spicy (I added the extra chilli) & so so filling. was so impressed with it that I ate it again for breakfast!


Sunday, June 6, 2010

This post is dedicated to.......


Those people who make this journey possible for me. In particularly my lovely partner Justin.
Now I do promise not to make this post all sappy & gross but I really did want to pay homage to him for helping me with my weightloss journey.
Justin will let me plan any menu that I want. He will try any meal at least once with the exception of seafood (do you know what fish do in the ocean?) & even though he will tell anyone that will listen that he doesn't have to eat vegetables (cause if something in your fridge is green shouldn't it be thrown out) he does & will eat them, even complaining the other night that his serve of vegetables probably wasn't enough ... lol.
Every Friday is "Take out Friday". This is a tradition we've had since we got together 5 years ago but the choice of what we have is left to me.
Why does he do this? Because he wants me to give myself the best chance at achieving a healthy weight range for myself. The support that he gives me is unwavering. As long as I am willing to give myself a go he will be there to support me in any way possible. This has included starting the c25k challenge with me. Does he like exercise? No bloody way! Does he recognise that I need it to get to where I want. Of course.
So Justin, Thank you.... P.S. I just burnt the last batch of your cookies... whoops! Forgive me?
Now I do have to admit that Justin is not the only person who supports me.
There are a myriad of others. I have the girls on the GU80 thread on the WW forums. Man they are a hoot & yes we do actually talk about weight loss from time to time. We are also meeting at the Gold Coast in September so I can't wait for that!
There are also my blog followers & i'm happy that I can follow theirs too.
Ally & Jess - It is great to have other girls who I can relate to & who are motivating & inspirational.
Nell - you have been a best friend since high school. Even though you are on a different continent you still motivate me to keep going & i'm sure we'll kick butt on the c25k challenge as well!!
Deb - I always always enjoy your blogs. You have done & are still doing an excellent job - keep it up.
I just want to say, don't let negativity get in your way, don't listen to the people who say you can't or that when you do you won't maintain it. Surround yourself with those that will love & support you & make the journey you are on all the more worthwhile, because, afterall, when all is said & done, it is these people that you will be wanting to spend your time with when you have made your goals a reality!

Friday, June 4, 2010

Check out Jess' blog!!

Hey everyone out there in Blogging land. Are you looking for a new blog to follow? Well head on over to Jess' thread & check out the awesome giveaway she has going on. While you're there, grab some inspiration & enjoy the pics & useful info that she has provided. Learn more about her in her thread on 10 things about her. One cool chickie... plus she loves Gilmore girls.. lol, nuff said.

Here's the linky!!

http://jessisfound.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

C25K

Couch to 5k .... wow.... sorry.. talking... in... short.... gasps... lol

http://www.c25k.com/

Well i've toyed with the idea of this program for about 5-6 months now & since i've been trying to use more aps on my iphone I decided to download the program & start. It is a terrific program, you can play your own music & it will beep & tell you what you do when you need to do it.
It's based on being able to go from being a couch potato to being able to run 5km or 30 min continuously within 9 weeks. you can go slower if you want to & to be honest, at the moment I may have to.
So today I did week 1 day 1 & it was tough going, I did cheat in the middle & walked all but 20 seconds of one of my running segments but otherwise am proud to say I did it & now that I can breathe again i'm feeling pretty darned good about it!

hmm what else is happening in the world of Kelly? I've been sticking to my points & making sure I do exercise daily & i've even washed the dishes straight after dinner for 3 days in a row... lol... maybe don't expect that to last hehehehe

Oh & Justin's son has an assignment for school where he has to make up a healthy food plan for a week.... hmmm time to pull out some ww mags & cookbooks & weave my magic... is it bad if I want to do his assignment for him? Is it also bad that it's due by Friday & he's known about it for 2 months? Is it bad that he's starting it now? Is it really unexpected? lol.....

Saturday, May 29, 2010

WOW!!! What a day!

Ok so I apologize for the title because my day wasn't really that exciting but I feel absolutely awesome.

I finished work at 7 this morning & since it's the start of my weekend I was thinking maybe "The Coffee Club" for breakfast would be a great way to end the week. But as I got in the car I realised that if I wanted to get serious about saving a bit more of my money & not blowing my daily points allowance in one sitting then I would need to start now & not later. So instead I bought some raisin bread & toasted it up when I got home with a glass of Orange Juice for a grand total of 9 points :-) Trust me, if I had of gone to The Coffee Club it would have been at least 13 points!

I slept through the day but got up & decided to cook dinner. I had Pork Loin Steak, Sweet Potato bake & Steamed Vegetables. All for 8.5 points I'm even too full for apple pie & custard (light version of each) that I bought at the shops as a treat. But there is always tomorrow.

I've started drinking herbal tea as a way to get more fluids into me & currently i'm enjoying "Nerada Chai" tea. Although not quite the same as the milky version I still class it as a warm hug in a cup.
I bit the bullet so to speak & have bought myself a multi vitamin. As much as I hate taking tablets I want to be able to tick every box on my tracker so yeah i'm now swallowing a big brown capsule every day... bleh!

Well i'm off to do some exercise now. I think my leg magic today - when I get my tax refund I think i'll look into getting the Zumba dvd's so that I can be unco in my own lounge room lol!!

Friday, May 28, 2010

The emancipation of... me

So without trying to get all philosophical on everyone, who has read "Looking for Alibrandi" by Melina Marchetta?

I have & I love it. read it for the 1st time when I was about 13 & something in it has just stuck with me ever since.
For those of you who haven't, It is about a young woman named Josephine who is 17 years old & in her last year of high school. It is a book about her emancipation. Her freedom. Finding herself. Understanding her relationships both with friends & family etc. Learning where she fits in the world re ethnicities/cultures & of course the dramas of being a 17 year old.

Where does this fit in with my post?

I feel like I am rediscovering myself. I have been a half hearted WW follower at best over the last couple of months. Some weeks I loose, some I gain & some I STS. I have slowly lost some weight but it hasn't really been through trying... unless you call 3-4 days in a spurt trying before I loose focus again.

I found an old WW magazine today & realised that I hadn't read some of the articles in it when I used to sit & read cover to cover trying to reap as much information as I could.

So here's my plan for the next week.
I will track everything I eat, not starting from tomorrow but starting from now.
I will complete 30 min of exercise per day (I have season 2 of True Blood now so quite possibly will be watching this whilst I exercise bike away)
I will drink 2 litres of fluid per day. This will be made up of herbal teas, water, skim milk & maybe even juice. It will not be made up of soft drink. Even "diet" doesn't do me any favours so I will kick it to the curb for the week.

Sounds easy in theory but I know it won't be in reality. However as Josephine learns, not everything is easy. Life has complications, trials, potholes, roadworks etc etc....

Nothing ventured, nothing gained & although i'm not wanting to gain any more, I don't want to stay the same either.

Feel free to leave any tips or advice in the comments section, I do read them & am grateful for every one I recieve. You are helping me stay accountable!

Monday, May 24, 2010

My Measurements

Ok ok I know, i've been extremely late in posting them but I lost the tape meausre & only yesterday remembered to look for one at the shops.

So here they are. Am hoping that J measured the right areas... any tips on how you measure are welcome!

All measured in cm

Bust - 107.5
Waist - 110.5
Hips - 119
Calves - L: 41 R: 40
Thighs - L: 70.5 R: 72.5
Arms - L: 37.5 R: 37

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

The most unflattering me... A healthy dose of realism?.. Why am I doing this?


So, you know how you think you really don't look all that bad & then you see the photos that convince you otherwise? Here is a photo of me back in January 2009 when we had Justin's kids up over the Christmas holidays. It really wasn't till I saw this photo that I realised that my body really wasn't that flattering anymore... also what was I thinking with blonde hair... hmmm?



So in 2009 I decided to loose weight & I had toyed with the idea of weight watchers & finally in April decided to do it. My heaviest weight was 97.3.

I remember back in high school having a friend who came in one day & said that she was now 70kilos & thinking, "I never want to be that heavy"... A few weeks later I weighed myself & was 69.5... well I immediately adjusted my eating style & started exercising & did drop weight Not sure what I got to but I would assume low end 60's would be about right.. I know that I was about a size 10-12. By the time I was 19 I know I was up at 86.5 which was when I moved to Brisbane & started working in childcare. Being so active, the weight dropped off & I was again a size 10-12. Fast forward to now I am 26 years old. I went through a marriage break up & am in a very happy relationship with my beautiful man Justin but again the weight has crept on. I also am back in a sedentary job (call centre - shift work)

So back to the weight watchers journey that I started last year. I went ok for about 2 months & lost 5 kilos. I then thought I could go it alone & cancelled my subscription. I pretty much maintained but the weight slowly started to creep back, so in January this year I realised I couldn't do it myself & went back. I was back to 94.7

I guess what this has taught me is that unless I keep at it constantly, I am not going to loose this weight & I can't ever get complacent about it or it will come back & judging by past history, it always comes back with an extra 15 kilos. I don't want to wake up & be 110 kilos one day. At my heaviest I remember lying on my back in bed & feeling so restricted like I had a weight pressing down on my chest making it harder for me to breathe, I don't have that any more but I do still have sore knees whish I am guessing is from the huge amount of weight that I carry from my thighs (thanks mum). I also want to be a positive role model for Justin's girls who are entering their teenage years & already learning that kids at school can be cruel with taunts about weight.

Today I am going to take my measurements & I will post these later.. today I will also do some exercise because I haven't done it in at least 2 weeks & I need to pull my head back in before I think I look good ... hmm maybe I need another photo taken of me so that I realise i'm not there yet & still need to keep working at it.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings

xox

Saturday, May 15, 2010

How much are you worth?

This post is dedicated to Abmis21497 from WW forums.

She posted the following

"Just for fun today I worked out my weight in gold and I am worth over $6.2 million!!!This is NOT a good thing. I should be worth $3 million.If you want to find your weight in gold:First: Convert your weight from Kilos to onces - http://www.onlineconversion.com/weight_common.htmThen: Multiply your answer by $1,384.74 (The AUD/Oz price of gold at Close of Business 14 May 2010) "

Mine worked out to be aprox $4.2 million... I should be aprox $3 million.... not sure that I want to loose $1.2 million but i'm sure as heck happy to loose that weight.

Try it out have some fun & no matter what number you get, remember that you are worth every dollar that comes up. & you are still worth it when you loose that too because you wanted it enough to go out & do it!!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Thursday 13/05/2010

uhhhm so I think I put the wrong date on yesterdays post....

Hello Blogging land. Well things came to a head at work yesterday & they changed Justin's roster on him. I opted to stay out of that meeting where he was apparently told that no ifs buts or maybe's he was changing his roster & they want my decission by today.... uhhhm no. you aren't getting it till i'm ready. I took a personal leave day today because I really don't know what I want to do. Do I change rosters & give them the satisfaction of knowing the whole time that they could make me do that. Do I stay where I am & see less of J? Do I just leave & get a new job somewhere else? Well unfortunately bills come first so I can't leave unless I have a new job to go to but I don't want to stay somehwere where people will lie about you to your partner no less ..... hmm dilemas dilemas.

On the upside my lounge room looks beautiful. All the washing that was folded up in there but in lots of piles has now been put away, my wardrobe is cleaned out & organised. My kitchen is beautiful too & even my computer desk got a going over... every time I walked up to that fridge yesterday I told myself I wasn't really hungry & this was just stress picking so I went and did a job that i'd been putting off because I didn't want to do it. Today I think will be the bathrooms & our spare room.

Today I will continue to ask myself before I eat something if I am eating just because I can or if I really need it. Then I will listen to the answer & act accordingly.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Wednesday 11/05/2010

Welcome to hump day... or in my case Sunday cause I go back to work tomorrow. I know I know I shouldn't complain, it's only 4 days worth of work then days off again but I really don't like work at the moment. They're changing the rosters around & my partner Justin works there as well. You'd think if they were going to tell him that I chose one roster over another that they'd make sure that's what I said... I mean really so i'm not going to communicate with my own partner?!?

Anyways, update on my weight loss... I've done nothing... well no, not true, i've gained weight.. my at home scales say 1.5 kg & I did that in less than a week... this is what comes of not tracking, no water & no exercise. I could use the excuse that i've been sick & it's true I am still under the weather but honestly i've been hit with a case of the too hards & can't be bothered. Well I read a post yesterday that reminded me why i'm here.

"Being overweight is hard... Loosing weight is hard... Choose your hard".

Chosen. & although we all know I will post a gain at my official weigh in this week, I promise not to let it affect me, I will use it to motivate me & the week after I promise a loss. I also promise that the can't be bothered's has now stopped.

Sunday, May 9, 2010

hmmm pattern forming here? haven't even logged on for a week so lets start from last Sunday.

I went to the movies & we went to our fav burger joint first, I opted just for some hot chippies, was totally saving myself for the popcorn lol!! Well, Ironman was awesome, the company was great & the popcorn divine.... did I eat to much popcorn? Hell yes. Did my brain know I was eating too much ... yup. Did I feel powerless to stop it... well lets just say that I rationalised that by eating popcorn I was soaking up some of my full bladder so that I din't have to get up 1/2 way through the movie to pee..lol.. Well after the movies we went to a little cafe called 3monkeys. It was pretty awesome, again I think because of the company & of course the chai tea which comes in a soup bowl.. nice... just like a warm hug in a cup or in this case, a bowl.

Now here's where the awesomeness starts to end.... the great company had gotten sick the week before but it was ironman & we'd all booked those tickets like a month ago so there was no way that we weren't going so Tuesday I wake up with a sore throat... then I sneezed... hmmmm.

Wednesday & Thursday were my day shifts at work & I snuffled my way through them. Felt pretty crap but I do seem to think that people need me more than they really do. Friday night I went to work & mind you, i'm pretty much reduced to eating soup & yoghurt by this stage & even that is just to make sure I eat something. Saturday night I decided to take off work so I went & saw my doctor who told me lots of bed rest, fluids etc... basically what Justin had told me since Tuesday afternoon.... I watched some tv movies & then I slept for over 12 hrs & boy do I feel better for it. still have my cold but it's slowly receding. pyjamas & ugg boots ftw!!

In amongst all the snuffling I did go to my meeting & lost 1.1 kg so now down to 86.6 (wooooot), however my apetite is coming back & I have eaten a whole packet of tim tams & made home made pizza last night... I feel heavier... but I was sooo sick of soup. lol. we'll see who wins this battle next week... my tummy or the scales... what was that saying I heard the other day... starve a fever feed a cold.... hmmmm. well fever is gone & I don't want to starve but no more feeding (thank god I finished my Tim Tams)

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Wednesday - Sunday

Well i've been a little awol haven't I!! Not alot to report, i've worked & slept pretty much but am on days off now just in time for the long weekend.

Am happy to report that I tracked everything last week & will continue the practice this week - apparently 2 weeks to form a habit... I figure having the tracker journal & points calculater with me wherever I go also helps.
I gained 200grams at wi yesterday but i'm not too fazed by it. I will use the excuse that i'd just finished night shift so as far as my body was concerned, this was the end of the day for me 7 not the beginning when I usually weigh... I know I shouldn't make excuses but at least it's stopping me from becoming disheartened & allowing myself to go backwards because I really don't want to do that.

Today i'm spending relaxing around the house, possibly doing a little cleaning & then off to see Ironman2 tonight in Gold Class. One of my friends got 2 extra tickets for Justin & I so i'll have to have a look & see when the next good movie's coming out so we can repay the favour. I will quite possibly consume a HUGE amount of popcorn tonight (love movie popcorn) but will attempt to stay away from the sundaes & food platters that they have in Gold Class.

Will let you all know how the movie is tomorrow!

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Monday/Tuesday

Not much to report for the last 2 days. J mowed the lawns yesterday & I whipper snippered... or at least attempted to. J had to show me lots & lots & lots & constantly tell me to move my feet back or that I was holding it wrong etc etc.... anyways you get the point, but now at least our front yard is most definantly not a jungle.. Also my arms are so sore it reallly hurts to lift them at all & even sitting at the computer the pretty much non existent muscles in them start to spasm & my arms go all shaky. bit funny to watch lol. Also disn't realise how hard it would be to drive a car (with power steering) after the gardening was done.. hmmm maybe I should keep doing strength exercises etc for my arms so that the simple task of holding a whipper snipper doesn't kill me!!!

Today, I went to work.. 12 hrs of annoying boringness & I have to go back again tomorrow... unless I snap up the 15 mil from lotto tonight but we all know how likely that is lol!! well dinner is ready (fish & steamed vegies).. am making an effort to eat more fish these days plus it's low in points!!

So far i've managed to track EVERYTHING since Saturday morning so that's 4 days i'm pretty stoked with that. now if only I could kick my own butt & make me get active haha yeah right... maybe tomorrow when I don't have to get up early the next day....

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Anzac Day Sunday

Not much to report for today or yesterday really.

I managed to save 1.5 points yesterday which is good because i'm thinking of going to the movies on Tuesday & as you will all discover I have a huge weakness for popcorn... specifically freshly cooked movie popcorn!!
I also did 30 min on my exercise bike which to be honest I really didn't feel like doing but I did it & i'm glad I did. I think maybe today i'll go walking instead.. maybe i'll even remember to strap on my pedometer & count my steps but that counts on me remembering (think dory... yes i'm a natural blue!! lol)
My footy tipping seems to have improved on the last few weeks where I only picked 1 winner both times.. so far this week i've won 3 games yippeeee!

Friday, April 23, 2010

Saturday!!!

Had Weigh in this morning & am down to 87.5 which was a loss of 500grams! i'll take that considering it wasn't till wednesday that I started to put my head on straight & be a good girl.

I have decided that I need to get back to tracking which I haven't really done for a while so i'm hoping this helps keep me more accountable. I bought myself a journal that I can write all my food/points/exercise in for the next 12 weeks & since I won the raffle at my meeting today I also got a new cookbook yippeeeee.

So today I got rid of lots of junk & boxes etc from our garage. We can fit one of the cars in there & still have more to get rid of so i'm super happy to be decluttering - did have an argument on the way to the rubbish dump (I broke the navman & then couldn't tell J what way to go) when I got to the rubbish dump the guy told me that they didn't take human remains & that we had to be nice to each other so J looked at jewellery with me at the shops & I bought him a video game & now we are all happy again lol!

Have to go look through the cookbook now & organise some food for the week stay safe & have fun!!

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Day 3/4 - Thursday & Friday

Well, not a whole lot to report for Thursday... I finished work at 6am, I came home, I slept I got up, I went to work & I finished at 6am Friday morning. Needless to say there was noooooo motivation at all to do any exercise so I tried making better food choices for the day. Instead of yummy chicken mussaman curry for dinner I had a vegetable Tom Jeud soup & some plain chicken skewers both are yum but I knew that the curry would set me back a few days so decided that I would skip it.

I'm in that revolving door at the moment where I just keep going round & round. I broke though 90 a good couple of weeks ago & have slowly come down to 88 but it has been a struggle & I have done alot of hovering. I have to keep telling myself to break the mentality that now I am under 90 which was a goal for sooooo long that that is enough so I'm really really hoping to get into 87's by tomorrow morning just to help me break my cycle.

So now that I am awake & not working for the next 4 days & also not visitting theme parks (thank goodness) I will be spring cleaning my house. Can't decide if i'm early for this year or late from last year... First stop is weeding the garden, which Justin will then mow the lawn. Next stop Garage & taking all the old unused broken junk that accumulates to the dump so that we can fit one of the cars in there then it will be getting rid of those clothes that are too big (finaly a job I can like) I'm thinking that even if I don't feel like doing exercise today that this should count for it instead!

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Day 2...

Well yesterday I actually did exercise. I tried grabbing an afternoon nap before heading off to work for night shift but Justin had other plans... like snoring... OMG! After a few swift kicks did nothing to alleviate the issue I decided to get up & do my leg magic dvd which also gave me a bit extra energy. whilst at work last night I also managed a couple of walks around the perimeter of the building so i'm hoping that every little bit will actually help.

On another note, bought a new tshirt yesterday, it was on sale marked down from $20 to $10. So I came home & said to Justin "look I saved $10" he rolled his eyes & said that excuse should never be valid but a quick poll of all the girls at work show that they think the same as me... so what's your take on that scenario? Do we actually save money or don't we considering that we probably wouldn't pay the whole $20 for the tshirt but would be willing to pay $10?

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Hi & Welcome!!

Ok so a bit about me & my challenge.


No I am not going to colorado, rather I have a cream pair of colorado pants that I am just dying to wear again.. They are size 12 & suffice to say... I am not.


I don't have a time as to when I will fit them again however I am undertaking small challenges along the way to help me chip away at this goal. My current aim is to be 83kg by 2nd July which equates to 5kg lost averaging out at 500gm a week.


Now about me:


My name is Kelly-Louise (or Kel). I turn 27 in July this year which is not really a major milestone so am not really caring about this birthday. I live with my partner Justin & we'll have been together for 5 years in August. J has 4 kids from his first marriage & we have them during NSW school holidays so suffice to say life gets a bit hectic during this time. Otherwise it is just the 2 of us at home. I work shift work, play online computer games & generally just like to sloth around the house hence the increase in my waistline.... so hopefully my escapades on here will motivate me to get a bit more active & keep me honest.


P.s. I'll upload some pics later including my pants that I am just dying to wear again!