Saturday, May 29, 2010

WOW!!! What a day!

Ok so I apologize for the title because my day wasn't really that exciting but I feel absolutely awesome.

I finished work at 7 this morning & since it's the start of my weekend I was thinking maybe "The Coffee Club" for breakfast would be a great way to end the week. But as I got in the car I realised that if I wanted to get serious about saving a bit more of my money & not blowing my daily points allowance in one sitting then I would need to start now & not later. So instead I bought some raisin bread & toasted it up when I got home with a glass of Orange Juice for a grand total of 9 points :-) Trust me, if I had of gone to The Coffee Club it would have been at least 13 points!

I slept through the day but got up & decided to cook dinner. I had Pork Loin Steak, Sweet Potato bake & Steamed Vegetables. All for 8.5 points I'm even too full for apple pie & custard (light version of each) that I bought at the shops as a treat. But there is always tomorrow.

I've started drinking herbal tea as a way to get more fluids into me & currently i'm enjoying "Nerada Chai" tea. Although not quite the same as the milky version I still class it as a warm hug in a cup.
I bit the bullet so to speak & have bought myself a multi vitamin. As much as I hate taking tablets I want to be able to tick every box on my tracker so yeah i'm now swallowing a big brown capsule every day... bleh!

Well i'm off to do some exercise now. I think my leg magic today - when I get my tax refund I think i'll look into getting the Zumba dvd's so that I can be unco in my own lounge room lol!!

Friday, May 28, 2010

The emancipation of... me

So without trying to get all philosophical on everyone, who has read "Looking for Alibrandi" by Melina Marchetta?

I have & I love it. read it for the 1st time when I was about 13 & something in it has just stuck with me ever since.
For those of you who haven't, It is about a young woman named Josephine who is 17 years old & in her last year of high school. It is a book about her emancipation. Her freedom. Finding herself. Understanding her relationships both with friends & family etc. Learning where she fits in the world re ethnicities/cultures & of course the dramas of being a 17 year old.

Where does this fit in with my post?

I feel like I am rediscovering myself. I have been a half hearted WW follower at best over the last couple of months. Some weeks I loose, some I gain & some I STS. I have slowly lost some weight but it hasn't really been through trying... unless you call 3-4 days in a spurt trying before I loose focus again.

I found an old WW magazine today & realised that I hadn't read some of the articles in it when I used to sit & read cover to cover trying to reap as much information as I could.

So here's my plan for the next week.
I will track everything I eat, not starting from tomorrow but starting from now.
I will complete 30 min of exercise per day (I have season 2 of True Blood now so quite possibly will be watching this whilst I exercise bike away)
I will drink 2 litres of fluid per day. This will be made up of herbal teas, water, skim milk & maybe even juice. It will not be made up of soft drink. Even "diet" doesn't do me any favours so I will kick it to the curb for the week.

Sounds easy in theory but I know it won't be in reality. However as Josephine learns, not everything is easy. Life has complications, trials, potholes, roadworks etc etc....

Nothing ventured, nothing gained & although i'm not wanting to gain any more, I don't want to stay the same either.

Feel free to leave any tips or advice in the comments section, I do read them & am grateful for every one I recieve. You are helping me stay accountable!

Monday, May 24, 2010

My Measurements

Ok ok I know, i've been extremely late in posting them but I lost the tape meausre & only yesterday remembered to look for one at the shops.

So here they are. Am hoping that J measured the right areas... any tips on how you measure are welcome!

All measured in cm

Bust - 107.5
Waist - 110.5
Hips - 119
Calves - L: 41 R: 40
Thighs - L: 70.5 R: 72.5
Arms - L: 37.5 R: 37

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

The most unflattering me... A healthy dose of realism?.. Why am I doing this?


So, you know how you think you really don't look all that bad & then you see the photos that convince you otherwise? Here is a photo of me back in January 2009 when we had Justin's kids up over the Christmas holidays. It really wasn't till I saw this photo that I realised that my body really wasn't that flattering anymore... also what was I thinking with blonde hair... hmmm?



So in 2009 I decided to loose weight & I had toyed with the idea of weight watchers & finally in April decided to do it. My heaviest weight was 97.3.

I remember back in high school having a friend who came in one day & said that she was now 70kilos & thinking, "I never want to be that heavy"... A few weeks later I weighed myself & was 69.5... well I immediately adjusted my eating style & started exercising & did drop weight Not sure what I got to but I would assume low end 60's would be about right.. I know that I was about a size 10-12. By the time I was 19 I know I was up at 86.5 which was when I moved to Brisbane & started working in childcare. Being so active, the weight dropped off & I was again a size 10-12. Fast forward to now I am 26 years old. I went through a marriage break up & am in a very happy relationship with my beautiful man Justin but again the weight has crept on. I also am back in a sedentary job (call centre - shift work)

So back to the weight watchers journey that I started last year. I went ok for about 2 months & lost 5 kilos. I then thought I could go it alone & cancelled my subscription. I pretty much maintained but the weight slowly started to creep back, so in January this year I realised I couldn't do it myself & went back. I was back to 94.7

I guess what this has taught me is that unless I keep at it constantly, I am not going to loose this weight & I can't ever get complacent about it or it will come back & judging by past history, it always comes back with an extra 15 kilos. I don't want to wake up & be 110 kilos one day. At my heaviest I remember lying on my back in bed & feeling so restricted like I had a weight pressing down on my chest making it harder for me to breathe, I don't have that any more but I do still have sore knees whish I am guessing is from the huge amount of weight that I carry from my thighs (thanks mum). I also want to be a positive role model for Justin's girls who are entering their teenage years & already learning that kids at school can be cruel with taunts about weight.

Today I am going to take my measurements & I will post these later.. today I will also do some exercise because I haven't done it in at least 2 weeks & I need to pull my head back in before I think I look good ... hmm maybe I need another photo taken of me so that I realise i'm not there yet & still need to keep working at it.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings

xox

Saturday, May 15, 2010

How much are you worth?

This post is dedicated to Abmis21497 from WW forums.

She posted the following

"Just for fun today I worked out my weight in gold and I am worth over $6.2 million!!!This is NOT a good thing. I should be worth $3 million.If you want to find your weight in gold:First: Convert your weight from Kilos to onces - http://www.onlineconversion.com/weight_common.htmThen: Multiply your answer by $1,384.74 (The AUD/Oz price of gold at Close of Business 14 May 2010) "

Mine worked out to be aprox $4.2 million... I should be aprox $3 million.... not sure that I want to loose $1.2 million but i'm sure as heck happy to loose that weight.

Try it out have some fun & no matter what number you get, remember that you are worth every dollar that comes up. & you are still worth it when you loose that too because you wanted it enough to go out & do it!!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Thursday 13/05/2010

uhhhm so I think I put the wrong date on yesterdays post....

Hello Blogging land. Well things came to a head at work yesterday & they changed Justin's roster on him. I opted to stay out of that meeting where he was apparently told that no ifs buts or maybe's he was changing his roster & they want my decission by today.... uhhhm no. you aren't getting it till i'm ready. I took a personal leave day today because I really don't know what I want to do. Do I change rosters & give them the satisfaction of knowing the whole time that they could make me do that. Do I stay where I am & see less of J? Do I just leave & get a new job somewhere else? Well unfortunately bills come first so I can't leave unless I have a new job to go to but I don't want to stay somehwere where people will lie about you to your partner no less ..... hmm dilemas dilemas.

On the upside my lounge room looks beautiful. All the washing that was folded up in there but in lots of piles has now been put away, my wardrobe is cleaned out & organised. My kitchen is beautiful too & even my computer desk got a going over... every time I walked up to that fridge yesterday I told myself I wasn't really hungry & this was just stress picking so I went and did a job that i'd been putting off because I didn't want to do it. Today I think will be the bathrooms & our spare room.

Today I will continue to ask myself before I eat something if I am eating just because I can or if I really need it. Then I will listen to the answer & act accordingly.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Wednesday 11/05/2010

Welcome to hump day... or in my case Sunday cause I go back to work tomorrow. I know I know I shouldn't complain, it's only 4 days worth of work then days off again but I really don't like work at the moment. They're changing the rosters around & my partner Justin works there as well. You'd think if they were going to tell him that I chose one roster over another that they'd make sure that's what I said... I mean really so i'm not going to communicate with my own partner?!?

Anyways, update on my weight loss... I've done nothing... well no, not true, i've gained weight.. my at home scales say 1.5 kg & I did that in less than a week... this is what comes of not tracking, no water & no exercise. I could use the excuse that i've been sick & it's true I am still under the weather but honestly i've been hit with a case of the too hards & can't be bothered. Well I read a post yesterday that reminded me why i'm here.

"Being overweight is hard... Loosing weight is hard... Choose your hard".

Chosen. & although we all know I will post a gain at my official weigh in this week, I promise not to let it affect me, I will use it to motivate me & the week after I promise a loss. I also promise that the can't be bothered's has now stopped.

Sunday, May 9, 2010

hmmm pattern forming here? haven't even logged on for a week so lets start from last Sunday.

I went to the movies & we went to our fav burger joint first, I opted just for some hot chippies, was totally saving myself for the popcorn lol!! Well, Ironman was awesome, the company was great & the popcorn divine.... did I eat to much popcorn? Hell yes. Did my brain know I was eating too much ... yup. Did I feel powerless to stop it... well lets just say that I rationalised that by eating popcorn I was soaking up some of my full bladder so that I din't have to get up 1/2 way through the movie to pee..lol.. Well after the movies we went to a little cafe called 3monkeys. It was pretty awesome, again I think because of the company & of course the chai tea which comes in a soup bowl.. nice... just like a warm hug in a cup or in this case, a bowl.

Now here's where the awesomeness starts to end.... the great company had gotten sick the week before but it was ironman & we'd all booked those tickets like a month ago so there was no way that we weren't going so Tuesday I wake up with a sore throat... then I sneezed... hmmmm.

Wednesday & Thursday were my day shifts at work & I snuffled my way through them. Felt pretty crap but I do seem to think that people need me more than they really do. Friday night I went to work & mind you, i'm pretty much reduced to eating soup & yoghurt by this stage & even that is just to make sure I eat something. Saturday night I decided to take off work so I went & saw my doctor who told me lots of bed rest, fluids etc... basically what Justin had told me since Tuesday afternoon.... I watched some tv movies & then I slept for over 12 hrs & boy do I feel better for it. still have my cold but it's slowly receding. pyjamas & ugg boots ftw!!

In amongst all the snuffling I did go to my meeting & lost 1.1 kg so now down to 86.6 (wooooot), however my apetite is coming back & I have eaten a whole packet of tim tams & made home made pizza last night... I feel heavier... but I was sooo sick of soup. lol. we'll see who wins this battle next week... my tummy or the scales... what was that saying I heard the other day... starve a fever feed a cold.... hmmmm. well fever is gone & I don't want to starve but no more feeding (thank god I finished my Tim Tams)

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Wednesday - Sunday

Well i've been a little awol haven't I!! Not alot to report, i've worked & slept pretty much but am on days off now just in time for the long weekend.

Am happy to report that I tracked everything last week & will continue the practice this week - apparently 2 weeks to form a habit... I figure having the tracker journal & points calculater with me wherever I go also helps.
I gained 200grams at wi yesterday but i'm not too fazed by it. I will use the excuse that i'd just finished night shift so as far as my body was concerned, this was the end of the day for me 7 not the beginning when I usually weigh... I know I shouldn't make excuses but at least it's stopping me from becoming disheartened & allowing myself to go backwards because I really don't want to do that.

Today i'm spending relaxing around the house, possibly doing a little cleaning & then off to see Ironman2 tonight in Gold Class. One of my friends got 2 extra tickets for Justin & I so i'll have to have a look & see when the next good movie's coming out so we can repay the favour. I will quite possibly consume a HUGE amount of popcorn tonight (love movie popcorn) but will attempt to stay away from the sundaes & food platters that they have in Gold Class.

Will let you all know how the movie is tomorrow!