Monday, September 27, 2010

To be a kid again....

It's that time of the year again that makes some parents cringe, me, i'm lucky I guess because we only have Justins kids for school holidays so every moment is absolutely cherished.
The weight that I gain whilst they're here is maybe not so much cherished but at least since it's spring we can have lots of salads & bbq's so that should help some. Also it's only really a temporary gain.

Anyways, back to school holidays. I have this week off work & Justin will take next week off with the kids.
This afternoon we spent at the park. One of the boys bought his skateboard with him so I spent alot of time sitting on the skateboard flying down the hill. Then we figured out that if I sit right at the back of the skateboard with a girl in front & if she holds my legs up then we can double team it... So much fun & amazingly no real bruises! Not to mention all the climbing back up the hill to do it again.
We also climbed all over the climbing frame & I have come to realise that the upper arm strength I had as a child is most definantly a thing of the past but by the end of the day I could pull myself up & over the bars (woohoo)

Today we baked a chocolate cake, tomorrow will be something else, I love cooking & it's so much fun, can't wait to see what tomorrow has in store!

What was your favourite thing to do as a kid? go try it out again, I bet you have a blast!

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

For Ali!!

Well I just got facebooked because Ali's bored & since she was so cranky the other day I bestest comply or else live in fear that she'll jump through my computer & go all vampiric on me.......

I really really can't stand being sick & also certain aspects of my job, so much so that I overemphasised my cold so that I could go home & not have to be in the same room as a certain mean & vindictive supervisor who I am sure hates me & is completely out there just to make my life miserable by repeatedly making me do the job he knows I least like. I will admit, I now hate that I used to be inquisitive & that I used to want to know how everything worked because now it means I get stuck doing crap that I don't want to. Honestly, I think i'd go back to childcare if I could afford it!!!

So uhm yeah, that's my rant. Now for some good stuff because it's what's getting me through right now.

Ali's reminiscing over at her blog www.259days.blogspot.com & our "Web mum" Deb is quite funny in her comments. Ali is talking about how she used to be hot & how she wants to get back there. Deb thinks she's past hot because she is 48 now.

My latest favourite song is "Just the way you are" by Bruno Mars. It gives me goosebumps & it also reflects what my darling Justin says about me.. There's a line in there that goes "when you smile, the whole world stops & stares for a while".. he often says that about me.

When I was 21 I was what I thought was happily married, although really I was not. I married John right out of high school. You know those cliche's about highschool sweethearts... yup, I was it.
When I was 21, I was hot, I was rocking size 10-12 clothes. I had confidence, it shone through, I was beautiful inside & out.
When I was 21, I met Justin. Justin was married, he thought happily, with 4 kids. Yes ladies, a homewrecker I guess I am, although I will tell you it takes 2 people to cheat, you can't cheat by yourself & both of our exes pushed us to hang out together alot. Word of advice though, technologies a bitch & destroy all evidence if you don't ever want to get caught out. (oops)

When I was 22, Justin & I got caught & both of our marriages ended in an instance. I remember not feeling anything about it so really I do feel that it was for the best & a year or so later when I met up with my ex to sign some paperwork he even agreed that we'd stayed together too long & we should have both had the guts to split up sooner.
When I was 22, I started to gain weight... rapidly. I had changed from an active job to a call centre job. Justin still said I was hot, I was no longer a 21 year old but I was hot.
When I was 23, Justin still said I was hot, even when I was 24 & 25 & 26 & 27!

I am 27 & I am getting white hair. I'm not enjoying it. This is my midlife crisis... some would say I had that at 21, but I am having it at 27. I try to pull them out when I find them. sometimes it requires alot of time & effort & sometimes I just can't get it so I have to run out to Justin who laughs & then takes it out for me. Because to be truthful, I don't want to stop being hot to him.

In the last 5 years we have both gained weight, I did mine early on, he is working on his tummy now (& he's not impressed either I might add) But truth be told I still think he's hot, I just made him bend over my computer to plug in my headphones so I could check his butt out. He's still got it. This is a man who is closing in on 40 in a few years & like a fine wine he does get better with age (mmmm wine). This is a relationship where I feel alive, so so so alive. It is a fantasy almost every day & the days that it isn't are very soon forgotten because I get to go back to the fantasy, the guy who has played grid iron for 20 years so thanks to lots of squats he has the perfect ass. He gets a white haired woman who is getting her figure back so that I can be hot again in my own mind so that when he tells me i'm hot I can believe him instead of thinking that he needs glasses.

So the point of this rambling, apart from letting you know my past "days of our lives" dramas is that we are all "hot" to someone, & we do still have it, & we aren't going to loose it, because we are awesome! We are going to get thin, & we are going to go out & make heads turn & they won't be our mens, but our men will get to walk down the street with their egotistical grins & look at all they other guys checking us out & then they can casually drape an arm around us & smirk, cause they get to take us home. & you know that with girls as hot as us... well the sex will be fantastic!

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

It's Spring!!!!!

I'm actually an autumn girl but I am loving the warm weather these days. Beach days are getting closer & closer!!

Spring is a time for new beginnings & I think that works for me as well, a renewed focus on my weightloss & getting healthy again... Also a focus on wanting to beat one of the big talkers in the biggest looser challenge just to bring him down a peg or two (tall poppy syndrome).

I have now exercised on a daily basis for the last month & that is a huge achievement for me. Some things are still hard, some are getting easier & I am also looking at trying some new things like boxing, but still baby steps atm.

Will check in in a few days, water is going good, exercise is going good, just have to get my points right :)