Tuesday, August 24, 2010

It's my weekend!!!!!

Hello all you hard working people out there in blogging land. First up I just need a little nah nah nah nah.. it's officially my weekend! The downside is that when you're all enjoying yours i'll be heading back to work. Very happy to see the week that was gone! I mean really, 6am starts which means 4.30am wake ups. bleh! Yay for weekends!



So what do I have planned for the next few days? Well, a bit of nothing, some cleaning & then more nothing.

In amongst all the nothingness I will remember to consume water & keep on with the exercise.



& on a funnier note, there are some people at work who are thinking it'll be funny to bring in cakes & chocolates etc to really test people's willpower throughout the biggest looser challenge.. I see the funny side. I also see that some of these people are not quite skinny minnies themselves & are maybe being so flippant about it so that they don't have to look at themselves & their own issues.

It's all good though, cause I can hold out!! yeehaaaaaa!!


waterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwaterwater

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Competition time!!

We are embarking on a biggest looser style competition at work!
Now my work place is a 24 hr call centre. So obviously there are alot of larger people there, it is a sitting job, with long shifts ranging from 8-12 hr days. It is a rotating shiftwork roster over an 8 week period so one week I may start at 6am, the next at 11pm. There is no option other than designated break times to get up & go for a walk. We have an on site canteen during the day but during the nights unless you are prepared & bring your food you are left with the option of vending machine or take away, neither of which have many "good options".
So as I stated earlier, there are many larger people at work. I myself was a size 10 when I started there 5 years ago. within 6-8 months I was at least a 14 & not too long after that I was up to 16's. I hovered in 16-18's until the last year where i'm sure I shot up into size 20's although I never wore them, I think I just stretched the heck out of my old clothing.

The buy in is $20 per person, the competition starts 1st September & lasts for 8 weeks & is measured by % lost. Winner takes all.
Oh how I want to be that winner! I have quite a competitive streak in me sometimes that I think may just be rearing it's head.
You know how we all have our little tricks for making sure we weigh as light as possible? like going to the toilet beforehand, wearing ballet flat shoes that weigh as much as a feather, wearing light clothing, not eating heavy meals the day before a weigh in, staying away from diet drinks with high sodium levels that help retain water etc etc... I have become very tempted to drink alot of fluid right before weigh in, weigh with my joggers, wear jeans etc etc so that I have a higher starting weight, but then I know that this is also wrong, however it seems that there are others at work who are thinking exactly the same way. Nice to see i'm not the only competitive one huh?

Seriously though, I am going to give this my all. It will be interesting to see how much I can improve myself during this time & it will also be interesting to see the changes in all the other participants at work because goodness knows some of them need this motivation as well.

And if I win? well that's just icing on the cake!

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Hellllloooooooo

Hey everyone,

I'm still alive just sporadically posting.
Have exercised every day for over 2 weeks now so feeling good about that. I've also noticed that I am starting to feel like i'm missing something if I haven't done it, so advice wise, if you aren't a big exerciser, set yourself a challenge of 2 weeks & then see how you feel at the end, it really does become routine! Also keep changing it up. I have Zumba & Yoga Dvd's, exercise bike, leg magic (man that can hurt), walking & tomorrow i'm skipping!
I also saw some really pretty looking pink boxing gloves at the shops the other day so might look into some boxing courses so I have an excuse to wear them, besides, I think it could be fun to get a black eye for a day or so (just as long as I don't break a nail huh? LOL)
It's getting warmer so I went through my swimmers the other day, some are too big, some are getting too big & others are still a little snug but just ok... then there are the other 3 sets I have on layby.... hmmm best not tell Justin about that lol!
Uhhhhmm what else was I going to say?
Can't really remember but when I do, that will make another post!

Take care of yourselves & have a lovely week!

Saturday, August 7, 2010

The affair is over

I'm a serial weigher.... I sneak a peak whenever I can. I only ever go by the WW scales that I weigh in on once a week at meetings but I love to hop on my ones at home every chance I get to see how i'm going.

The problem is this though. This week I have tracked every day so far except for yesterday (friday). I know that there were some days where I went over by 1 or 2 points but i've earnt bonus points from exercise (I don't usually eat them but they've allowed me to stay within points balance). I currently have12 bonus points left & I don't feel the need to use them so that's good.
I have exercised every day. 30 min minimum sometimes closer to 1.5 hrs. The activities have ranged between my exercise bike or Zumba dvd's & tonight will be walking.
I've attended 2 meetings this week & nearly considered going for a third this morning.
I've upped the veggie intake & the water intake. I've tried 3 different WW recipes this week (all yummy) & i've been careful with my portion sizes.

So you'd think that i'd be looking at a pleasing result next monday night. Not so according to my scales. By the looks i'm heading for a gain & at least a 500 gram one.
I just don't understand it but it's doing my head in! So scales, the affair is over. I am putting you away before you derail me.
I am going to continue plugging away & working my butt off. I am sore in alot of places that I wasn't a week ago but I refuse to give in because I am worth it. I am now wearing a pair of jeans that I haven't for 4.5 years - That is progress.
Scales being mean to me & telling me that i'm gaining weight when i've worked so hard all week is not.
Just like affairs of the heart play mind games & seem to consume you before you realise that you can't be healthy if you stay in that situation any longer, so to must my relationship with the scales.

Cheers Kel.

P.S. If anyone has other suggestions or ideas as to what I can try please let me know!!

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Wooohooooo!!!!

Sorry feeling absolutely awesome right now! a bit sore but still awesome.

I did a 50 min zumba dvd workout today, the cardio party one. it was excellent! A few times like around the 20 min mark & again around the 30 min mark I was like oh man I don't want to do anymore, & then they changed the style & I kept going. It was fun & the exhilerating feeling of making it the whole way through was just unreal!! It almost makes me want to do it again but man am I pooped!!

This is my 4th day of focussing on tracking & so far I have kept it up. I have gone over points a few times but I am tracking them at least & so far I have exercised every day as well so i'm hoping that that will counterbalance it.

Today I am making the chicken & vegetable curry from the latest ww cookbook. I love curries so I am especially hopeful that this will be yummy.

Will let you all know how it goes.

On a sidenote, sorry if I don't make it to all your blog pages, my computer has died completely so until I get a new one I have commandered the kids one & I don't have all teh pages saved under my favourites.

<3 Kel

Sunday, August 1, 2010

ZUMBA!!!!


Lookie what I got today!!!!
My Zumba Dvd's turned up & I am soooo excited. I have already completed the 1st disc & it was not always easy, lets face it I am uncoordinated to the extreme but I had soooo much fun!
I bought the advance pack so I got a stripey towel, a watch which can also take my heart rate (I was 84 before & 98 after i'd cooled down), a set of shakers (just wait till those go through a window or worse the tv) & I think there are 9 different discs. All very exciting & whilst i'm sure some of those discs won't be opened for a while I know that there is heaps of variety to keep me interested!!
So lets get moving ladies!!!!!

What's your goal??

This week I am TRACKING!!!!!

Last night I worked out my menu plan & today I started tracking. I am feeling just that little bit more in control woohoo!

Have also started playing with the new stuff on the WW page, still not 100% sure if i'm a fan but I have to try it before I can diss it.

Will let you all know how I go after wi tonight. It may not be much of an improvement from last week but watch out next week because i'm back!

If any of you want to add me on the WW page I go under the name deimos.

Talk later & have a fabulous day!

Sluggishly slow Sunday













Having Mac & cheese for dinner tonight from the latest WW cookbook! Can't wait to try it, I almost wanted to forgo Friday night take out the other night in favour of trying it... almost but not quite.

So today... what have I done today?

Slept in
Added new photos on facebook
washing x3 loads
christmas laybys started at the shops
lounged around alot

what do I still have planned?

some form of exercise, I think my exercise bike will suffice although I wish my Zumba dvd's would hurry up! By the way congrats to Hez @ http://hezmark2.blogspot.com/ who got hers & has started Zumba, I hope you love them as much as everyone else seems to, I can't wait to join the craze!!
Cooking dinner... I wish some days that there was a cooking fairy. In all honesty I do love to cook, just some days I don't feel like it & today is one of them. (EDIT TO POST: I cooked it so that's done now)

Hope you've all had a lovely weekend & I will think of you all slaving away at work tomorrow whislt I continue to enjoy my weekend :)